Began on 15th September, Asia Cup 2018 have entered into the Super Four Stage. And Indian team without Virat Kohli is topping the chart along with Afghanistan in group A & B respectively. The other two teams to qualify in the Super Four Stage are India’s arch-rival Pakistan and its eastern neighbor Bangladesh.

The tournament commenced with a battle between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, which happened to go in favor of Bangladesh that thrashed Sri Lanka by 137 runs. But in next match of Bangla tigers with Afghanistan they were outplayed by eye catching performance of Rashid Khan of Afghanistan, who all together struck down Bangladesh by 136 runs. Interestingly, the Afghans were introduced in twelfth edition of the tournament.

The Eye catcher

Over the yearsthe Asia Cup has gained a lot of attention and excitement. One prime reason for that is the clash between India and Pakistan. The match which is most remembered and caused goose bump was between India and Pakistan.

In a sweat dropping weather of Dubai the atmosphere became shivering due to high voltage match between the arch rivals, but at the end it was India which managed to rise on the top burning down the Pakistan. But it was not easy for India against the nascent Hong Kong cricket team, but somehow Indians clinched victory.

The battle of pride

This was the first encounter between India and Pakistan since last 15 months; last encounter was at the time of champion’s trophy finals in which India was mutilated by Pakistan.

On Sep 19, Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat, but Indian bowlers were able to scalp Pak batsmen on a regular interval bowling out Pakistan for 162 in 43.1 over. In response India completely outplayed Pakistan clinching an easy win by 8 wickets.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar claimed Player of the match trophy by bagging 3 wickets for 15 runs.


The Chariot of Victory

On 21st September, India encountered Bangladesh but the result was same. India dominated Bangladesh claiming 7 wicket victory continuing its Chariot of Victory; Ravindra Jadeja was the player of the match.

Its quiet interesting to know that he was not even in the squad, but was called overnight as a replacement of Axar Patel. India won the toss and elected to bowl first and the plan went as it was planned. Bowlers were outstanding, bowling out Bangladesh on 173 in 49.1 over, from India Jadega bagging 4 wickets, Bumrah and Bhuvi grabbed 3 each.

In response openers Rohit and Shikhar started well and controlled with a partnership of 61, Rohit scored unbeaten 83(104) and Shikhar scored 40(47) before he got plumbed to straighter one by experienced Shakib Al Hasan.

All about statistics

Top 5 run scorers

Top 5 Bowling performances

Highest Scorers

Head to Head with Pakistan

With the win over Pakistan in current Asia Cup India aced by winning 6 ODI over 5 win with Pakistan.

Team Won Lose No results/Draw/Tie
India 6 5 1
Pakistan 5 6 1



The Super Sunday

On 23rd Sep Super Sunday, India will be taking on Pakistan again at 5 pm (IST) in Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai. India will be looking forward to continue its Chariot of Victory and in counter Pakistan will fight to stay alive in Asia cup.

The final is scheduled to be played on 28th September and we should hope that it will be India vs. Pakistan.


The ACC Asia Cup is a men’s OneDay International & Twenty20 International cricket tournament. It was established in 1983 when the Asian Cricket Council was founded as a measure to promote goodwill between Asian countries. It was originally scheduled to be held every two years.

The first Asia cup was held in 1984 in Sharjah, in the United Arab Emirates. The first edition of Asia cup was played between India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. India won the tournament with two victories. But in the second edition India pulled out of the tournament due to soured cricketing relations with Sri Lanka.



Change of format to the fastest format

After the Asian cricket council was downsized by ICC in 2015, it was announced that the tournament will be played on rotation basis in ODIs and T20I format. The first T20I Asia cup tournament was organized in Bangladesh in 2016. M.S. Dhoni scintillating performance made India to clinch the first tournament thrashing host team.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here